About the OST E


The Office of Science & Technology (OST) was established in 2001 at the Austrian Embassy in Washington, DC. A 2002 recommendation by the Austrian Council for Research and Technology Development encouraged the OST's initiatives in institution building.

The OST is an inter-ministerial initiative, currently supported by four Austrian ministries:
  • Foreign Ministry for European and International Affairs, BMeiA (Bundesministerium für Europäische und Internationale Angelegenheiten)
  • Federal Ministry of Science and Research, BMWF (Bundesministerium für Wissenschaft und Forschung)
  • Federal Ministry of Transport, Innovation and Technology, BMVIT (Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Innovation und Technologie)
  • Federal Ministry of Economy, Family and Youth, BMWFJ (Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft, Familie und Jugend)
The attaché for Science & Technology at the Embassy of Austria in Washington, DC, serves as director of the OST. Representatives of the four funding ministries form the Board of Directors, which is the supervisory board of the OST. This board determines strategic goals, financial planning, and the annual budget, and oversees the OST's work program and reporting to the funding ministries.